Please click on the pictures to find out more information about our Governors.

   Mr Richard Strachan
   Chair of Governors
   (Safeguarding and Looked After Children)

Miss Emma Robinson 

Vice Chair of Governors

Deputy Safeguarding Governor and Pupil Premium Sports Premium (Co-opted)

   Mrs Sarah Tomlinson
   (Staff - Head Teacher)

 Mr Rob Burrows



   Mrs Jackie Stringer
   SEND and Inclusion

   The Website and PR

   Mrs Joan Bailey
   British Values


   Mrs Angela Holden
   Curriculum Governor

   Mrs Jennifer Hughes

   The Curriculum Governor


Mr Christopher Bates






What is the role of our school Governors?

The Governing Body of our school is made up of parents and expert members of the local community who are passionate about delivering the best possible educational opportunities and outcomes for the children in our Nursery and Primary School. 

We take our role very seriously and regularly complete skills audits to make sure we have the right people with the right experience to help us make good decisions that are ambitious for our children. 

School governors provide strategic leadership and accountability in schools. They appoint the Head Teacher and Deputy Head Teacher. The role of the Governing Board is a strategic one with three key functions:

  • Making sure the school’s money is well spent. 

  • Holding the headteacher to account 

  • Ensuring clarity of vision, ethos and strategic direction

We have a full Governing Body meeting once a month and a finance review meeting every term. 

Our Governing Body currently consists of the following types of Governors:

1 x Head teacher
2 x Parent – represents the parents and children. Parent Governors are elected by other parents at the school.
1 x Staff – Staff Governors are elected by the school staff. Their role is not to represent staff, nor to stand alongside the Head Teacher in being held to account by the Governing Body, but to operate as part of the Governing Body to provide strategic leadership and to hold the Head Teacher to account. 

7 x Co-opted Governors - Co-opted Governors are appointed by the Governing Body. They are people who in the opinion of the Governing Body have the skills required to contribute to the effective governance and success of the school.
1 x Local Authority - Local Authority Governors are nominated by the local authority but appointed by the Governing Body.
Please click here for full details of our current Governing Body and their declarations, terms of office and meeting attendance.

The Chair of Governors can be contacted on -
Or by ringing the school office on 01606 593315

Files to Download

Contact Us: Darnhall Primary School Sandyhill Road, Winsford, Cheshire CW7 1JL

Tel: 01606 593315 General enquiries please speak to Mrs Young in the school.